KnowledgeSALARY
How much does a Saudia pilot earn?
By the PilotinQ editorial teamUpdated 15 Oct 2026
THE ANSWER35 sec read

Saudia does not publish pilot salaries: on 15 October 2026 its only pilot vacancy, the Saudia Cadet Program dated 18 September 2026, listed entry requirements but no pay.1

Was this useful?
Updated 15 Oct 2026All 6 sources →

The route, step by step

What does Saudia publish about pilot pay?
The Saudia Group careers site showed one pilot vacancy on 15 October 2026, the Saudia Cadet Program, dated 18 September 2026. It sets out the requirements and the documents to attach, but gives no figure for salary, training pay, housing or allowances. Searches on the site for pilot, captain and officer returned no vacancy for experienced first officers or captains on that date.1
Can a foreign pilot join Saudia as a first officer?
Gulf News reported in December 2020 that Saudia had celebrated the full replacement of its foreign co-pilots with Saudi nationals, and that the airline planned to Saudise its pilots fully. Saudia gave no figures for how many co-pilots were replaced or how many foreign pilots it still employed. The wider Saudi rule points the same way. According to Argaam, the first phase of the localisation of licensed aviation professions took effect on 15 March 2023, requiring 100% Saudization of the copilot role and 60% for airline transport pilots in private sector firms with at least five employees in those professions. The second phase, from 4 March 2024, raised the airline transport pilot share to 70%. All workers in these professions need accreditation from the General Authority of Civil Aviation (GACA).23
What does the Saudia Cadet Program require?
The programme is for Saudi nationals only. Applicants need a valid GACA multi-engine Commercial Pilot License, a GACA AIP test score of at least 80%, ICAO English Level 4, a GACA First-class Medical and at least 240 flying hours, of which 25 hours must be on multi-engine aircraft. Saudia also asks for a height of 165cm to 193cm, and under education it lists a science high-school certificate with 80% or above and a diploma or bachelor's degree in science or engineering with a GPA of at least 2.75 out of 4.1
What end-of-service pay applies in Saudi Arabia?
Saudi Arabia's Ministry of Human Resources and Social Development states that an employer pays an end-of-service award of half a month's wage for each of the first five years and one month's wage for each later year, based on the last wage. A worker who resigns with less than two years of service receives nothing, one third of the award after two to 5 years, and two thirds after more than 5 and less than 10 years. This is the general Saudi rule, and the Saudia vacancy does not state any terms of its own.14
How many pilots does Saudia employ?
In January 2014 Arab News reported that foreign pilots at Saudia were estimated at 25 percent, and a Shoura Council member said the airline had more than 700 assistant pilots, 250 of them ready for promotion to captain, while it had recruited 210 pilots of other nationalities. In a sponsored Saudia Group report published by Arab News in August 2023, 1,768 pilots and assistant pilots were said to have operated during the Hajj and summer season from 21 May to 2 August 2023.56
Sign in
SALARY

How much does a Saudia pilot earn?

By the PilotinQ editorial teamUpdated 15 Oct 2026
THE ANSWER35 sec read

Saudia does not publish pilot salaries: on 15 October 2026 its only pilot vacancy, the Saudia Cadet Program dated 18 September 2026, listed entry requirements but no pay.1

Was this useful?
Updated 15 Oct 2026All 6 sources →

Step by step

What does Saudia publish about pilot pay?
The Saudia Group careers site showed one pilot vacancy on 15 October 2026, the Saudia Cadet Program, dated 18 September 2026. It sets out the requirements and the documents to attach, but gives no figure for salary, training pay, housing or allowances. Searches on the site for pilot, captain and officer returned no vacancy for experienced first officers or captains on that date.1
Can a foreign pilot join Saudia as a first officer?
Gulf News reported in December 2020 that Saudia had celebrated the full replacement of its foreign co-pilots with Saudi nationals, and that the airline planned to Saudise its pilots fully. Saudia gave no figures for how many co-pilots were replaced or how many foreign pilots it still employed. The wider Saudi rule points the same way. According to Argaam, the first phase of the localisation of licensed aviation professions took effect on 15 March 2023, requiring 100% Saudization of the copilot role and 60% for airline transport pilots in private sector firms with at least five employees in those professions. The second phase, from 4 March 2024, raised the airline transport pilot share to 70%. All workers in these professions need accreditation from the General Authority of Civil Aviation (GACA).23
What does the Saudia Cadet Program require?
The programme is for Saudi nationals only. Applicants need a valid GACA multi-engine Commercial Pilot License, a GACA AIP test score of at least 80%, ICAO English Level 4, a GACA First-class Medical and at least 240 flying hours, of which 25 hours must be on multi-engine aircraft. Saudia also asks for a height of 165cm to 193cm, and under education it lists a science high-school certificate with 80% or above and a diploma or bachelor's degree in science or engineering with a GPA of at least 2.75 out of 4.1
What end-of-service pay applies in Saudi Arabia?
Saudi Arabia's Ministry of Human Resources and Social Development states that an employer pays an end-of-service award of half a month's wage for each of the first five years and one month's wage for each later year, based on the last wage. A worker who resigns with less than two years of service receives nothing, one third of the award after two to 5 years, and two thirds after more than 5 and less than 10 years. This is the general Saudi rule, and the Saudia vacancy does not state any terms of its own.14
How many pilots does Saudia employ?
In January 2014 Arab News reported that foreign pilots at Saudia were estimated at 25 percent, and a Shoura Council member said the airline had more than 700 assistant pilots, 250 of them ready for promotion to captain, while it had recruited 210 pilots of other nationalities. In a sponsored Saudia Group report published by Arab News in August 2023, 1,768 pilots and assistant pilots were said to have operated during the Hajj and summer season from 21 May to 2 August 2023.56
SOURCES
  1. 1Saudia Cadet ProgramSaudia · published 18 Sep 2026 · accessed 15 Oct 2026
  2. 2Saudia celebrates replacement of foreign co-pilots with nationalsGulf News · published 19 Dec 2020 · accessed 15 Oct 2026
  3. 3HRSD Ministry implements phase 1 of localizing licensed aviation professionsArgaam · published 15 Mar 2023 · accessed 15 Oct 2026
  4. 4End-of-service award regulationsMinistry of Human Resources and Social Development, Saudi Arabia · accessed 15 Oct 2026
  5. 5Saudia ignores Saudi pilots, opts for foreigners: ShouraArab News · published 16 Jan 2014 · accessed 15 Oct 2026
  6. 6Saudia Group played key role in success of Hajj season 2023Arab News (sponsored content, Saudia Group) · published 31 Aug 2023 · accessed 15 Oct 2026
AIRLINESSaudiaREAD NEXTHow much do airline pilots earn?
OPEN POSITIONSPilot jobs and cadet programmesEvery listing links to the employer's own advert and is checked daily.See pilot jobs